fbpx

Xiaomi Mi 5s Plus - Complete Review

Today we propose our review of Mi 5s Plus, the successor (in XL format) of the lucky and excellent Xiaomi Mi 5 top range. We tested the 4Gb version of RAM memory and 64Gb ROM memory. We thank HonorBuy.it for making the phone available.

PACKAGING (7.3)

The packaging, as is customary, is quite skinny. We have the 5V-2.5A / 9V-2A / 12V-1.5A power supply with Chinese / American socket (it will need an adapter), the USB Type C USB cable, the paper clip to open the 2 sim (double nano) and a hard plastic cover that covers the sides of the phone and leaves the upper and lower areas.

CONSTRUCTION AND APPEARANCE (9.2)

The phone is flawlessly constructed with premium materials that immediately make this feel to the touch. We are talking about a smooth metal unibody body but brushed effect, enriched by slightly rounded back edges that end up elegantly beveled on the 2.5D curved XNUMXD glass. There are always the same material and color inserts near the top and bottom antennas.

In the lower front we have the 3 backlit touch keys, and in the upper one there is the RGB notification LED, the headset cap, the proximity / brightness sensor and the selfie camera.img_20161218_140506

At the top we find the audio jack from 3.5mm, the background noise suppression microphone and the IR sensor.img_20161218_140601

On the sx side there is the sim box, while on the dx there is the volume bar and just below the power-on / off / lock-release button.

img_20161218_140514img_20161218_151741

Below you will find the microphone (sx grid), the speaker (dx grid), and the Type-C USB connector.img_20161218_140631

Behind we find the dual 13Mpx dual camera with dual Flash Led dual tone and the biometric sensor for fingerprint release.img_20161218_140544

The dimensions are 15.46 x 7.77 x 0.80 cm for a weight of 168Gr. All in all very good as we are talking about a Phablet from 5.7 ". It should also be noted that ergonomics, despite its size, remains more than discrete. Many 5.5 "I have more results" padelloni "and cumbersome. Forget about one-handed use (but if you want the 3.5 "/ 4" / 4.5 "screen reduction option).

PROCESSOR, OPERATING SYSTEM, AUTONOMY

Processor (9.7)

The CPUs of the Mi 5s Plus is the powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 quad core, with frequency from 2.35 Ghz, 64 or 128Gb of ROM memory (the fast UFS 2.0) and 3 or 4Gb of RAM LpDDR4 (3Gb on the 64Gb ROM and 4Gb on the 128Gb model). The GPU is the Adreno 530. Present the NFC module. Excellent work combined CPU / GPU that guarantees us perfect results with the heaviest games, such as Real Racing 3. But above all, consumption management is excellent. Compared to the 820 really a good step forward. Below are the average values ​​obtained on Antutu and Geekbench.

screenshot_2016-11-26-00-57-10-965_com-antutu-abenchmark screenshot_2016-11-27-01-37-39-182_com-primatelabs-geekbenchscreenshot_2016-11-27-01-37-47-387_com-primatelabs-geekbench screenshot_2016-11-27-01-37-52-087_com-primatelabs-geekbench

Operating System (9.0)

The operating system is Android 6 Marshmallow customized by the UI owner of Xiaomi, the famous MIUI, now in the 8 version. The model we tested fits the Xiaomi.Eu 6.11.10 ROM. The phone will arrive with Rom China, therefore only with Chinese / English and without Google services, it will be necessary to immediately install the Google Play Store and the Google services or the Global Rom. Alternatively, after unlocking the bootloader, it will also be possible to install Xiaomi.eu (always at the top as general performances).

In our case, I noticed some small but annoying bugs on everything that when the phone enters the pre-blocking screen (to say when the screen lowers the brightness, step that precedes the automatic shutdown of the screen), the Touch keys do not work anymore, even if they are still lit. This could, like the others, have been solved or even not present in the official Rom.

For the rest the general fluidity is always at the highest levels with the usual goodies of the UI Xiaomi as the ability to set automatic on / off time, to change the theme or just parts of a theme (icons only, wallpapers only, dialer only, etc.), insert a "quick ball" assistant with various shortcuts to favorite features in the foreground. Among the infinite settings of the MIUI8 I always want to mention the "Dual apps" and the "second space". The first will allow us to have a copy of all applications that require setting up an account (Facebook, Messenger, Whatsapp, Telegram, Instagram, Twitter, etc.) so you can use different 2 accounts simultaneously (HERE the focus on this feature). The second one will give us the possibility to create a sort of partition that can be used exactly like another phone, then another google account / applications / etcetera.

Android 6 and MIUI8 allow you to manage the permissions of each installed application, it is therefore important to pay attention to those that mainly serve the google services (given all the required permissions) otherwise you risk blocks and malfunctions. Also important to go to authorize messaging applications in the "autostart" section.

The system browser is still among the best in the Android market. For those who use Chrome and its ecosystem might be a problem, but in my opinion the automatic resizing of the text you will find on the Xiaomi browser is a really unmatched feature. If you get used to it you can not help it.

Autonomy (9.8)

The same discourse for energy saving authorizations (HERE the in-depth analysis for MIUI8 devices), which if set correctly will allow you to increase the autonomy of the phone which in itself is already incredible.

In fact, the battery is from 3800 mAh and will guarantee you exceptional performance. In my tests, performed with H3G operator in LTE-WCDMA mode, it has covered the 16 hours of stanby on average with 7h display medium on (mixed data / Wi-Fi). If we consider the size of the Display, I can say that it is the best autonomy I have ever found on a phablet. Good charging times are around 120 minutes.

screenshot_2016-12-05-01-39-50-717_com-miui-securitycenter screenshot_2016-12-05-01-39-54-797_com-miui-securitycenter screenshot_2016-12-05-01-40-09-486_com-miui-securitycenterscreenshot_2016-12-05-01-40-02-282_com-miui-securitycenter

Display (9.1)

The display is a diagonal IPS LCD with 5.7 "and FullHD resolution (1920 x 1080) 2.5D 386 ppi. The slight curvature that we find on the sides makes it really perfect to use the entire display, even at the edges where with a normal "flat" glass we would find it difficult to use. I was really pleasantly impressed with this 2.5D curvature. The brightness is excellent (perhaps the best ever seen on an IPS) as is visibility in the sun. Well the brightness sensor that calibrates in a reactive way. The color temperature can be set in 3 mode: warm, cold and natural. While the contrast can be set to automatic, normal or emphasized. The options are not lacking, so everyone will be able to find a preferential setting to fully enjoy this great display. Good whites and very good also the depth of the blacks.

Network (8.3)

As far as the radio part is concerned, we find a LTE category of 12 (up to 600mbps in download and 100mbps in upload) but does not support 20 (800 Mhz) bandwidth, so there will be problems for Wind users in 4G. Obviously there are also WCDMA / GSM, Bluetooth 4.2 and Wi-Fi a / b / g / n / ac (2.4 / 5Ghz) connections.

From comparisons made with my Mi 5 I noticed such a reception in Wi-Fi, no problem detected with Bluetooth links with all of my "park" devices (car, headphones, speaker).

Good telephone signal but slightly lower than Mi5, tested in limited areas where I could keep the signal, with the 5s plus roaming step. However, no disturbance problems are detected during the call, even if there is very little field.

Audio Quality (8.5)

In this sector it does not excel, in fact despite the quality in call is always perfect, the volume of the ear capsule and the speaker are slightly lower than those of the Mi 5 which I always keep as a good reference. This will not affect the use of hands-free or mp3 listening, but surely it could have been done a little better. Perhaps with future updates the situation will improve. I seem to be able to equate it to the younger brother, the Mi 5s.

Camera (8.1)

The present hardware is of a high standard. We are talking about a Sony 13 Mpx double sensor in 4 / 3 with f / 2.0 focal opening and a double ISP. The black and white sensor should capture up to 3 times more light than the color, exploiting Qualcomm's "clear sight" technology. In this way, the final shot should contain less digital noise, more detail and brightness. So in low light conditions, the picture should look much better. I did not find any difference, but by enabling the "stereo" feature that should enable this technology I noticed a small loss of detail. Maybe it should be better implemented via software.

As already seen on the Redmi Pro, the dual camera does not work in any way, even by setting the classic filters in the Miu8 camera. Often the preview shows the photo with the applied filter, but clicking we find it "flat". They are definitely bugs that will be eliminated by road ..

For the rest, the shots are more than good, but in my opinion inferior to those of my 5 / 5s. Unfortunately, Xiaomi has always highlighted a non-perfect software implementation of his photographic section. As for the options, we have the classic Xiaomi with the addition of the "raw" and "mono" mode (black and white).

The "B & W" mode is perhaps the one on which Xiaomi points to Huawei's reference with his P9 / P9 Plus. In the demo gallery you will find many color and black and white shots so that you can make your own evaluations on this shooting mode .

As for the photos in the interior with artificial light / low light, it seems clear to me the step behind the 5s. We are certainly not talking about bad shots, but the definition and the presence of noise leaves something to be desired.

Videos can be recorded up to 4K resolution to 30 fps and this very high definition also in "time lapse" and "slow motion" mode. I was pleasantly impressed with the video quality, a little less for the audio quality. I must say, however, that finally I have not found that ugly snap effect of autofocus that I found on the Mi 5 and Mi 5s.

Below are some shots and a demo video.

Gallery

Video demo:

FINAL CONSIDERATIONS

The Mi 5s plus is definitely a phablet suitable for those who have no problems with size. Its diagonal from 5.7 ”, although well optimized, really remains to be taken into consideration before purchasing. From the qualitative point of view there are few flaws and many pluses. And if we combine this with a price of around 400 euros then the doubts could be swept away.

Lo Xiaomi Mi 5S Plus, così come tutti i modelli Xiaomi, sono disponibili su HonorBuy.it che offre un servizio eccellente: 2 anni di garanzia, riparazione e spedizione dall’Italia senza costi doganali. Utilizzate il nostro codice sconto XTWINT per risparmiare.

Xiaomi Mi 5S Plus
2 years warranty with shipping and repair in Italy
€ 382 € 419
Xiaomi Mi 5s Plus - Complete Review
XTWINT
8.8 Total score

confection
7.3
Construction and Appearance
9.2
Processor (CPU + GPU)
9.7
Operating system
9
Autonomy
9.8
Display
9.1
Partners
8.3
Audio Quality
8.5
camera
8.1
PROS
  • Powerful CPU with great power consumption
  • Very large and bright display
  • Materials and premium construction
CONS
  • Dim a bit cumbersome, not for everyone
  • Telephone signal not at the top
  • Camera to optimize
Add your review | Read reviews and comments
BangGood GearBest Coupon

Telegram LogoAre you interested in OFFERS? Follow our TELEGRAM Channel! Many discount codes, offers, some exclusive of the group, on phones, tablet gadgets and technology.

Computer Consultant, DJ, Blogger. Passionate about Music (of course), movies, TV series, sports and lover of all that is technological. [Email protected]

1
comments

avatar
1 Topics
0 Answers to the topics
0 Followers
Comment with more reactions
The most active comment
1 Author's comment
max Recent author's comments
Subscribe
more new older most voted
Notify
max
not ready yet
max

It is 4 and 6 gb not 3 or 4 gb.

XiaomiToday.it - ​​The Italian n.1 community for Xiaomi products
Compare products
  • Total (0)
Compare
0

Like us!