fbpx

Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite review ... and comparison with Mi Note 10

It has been a couple of years since Xiaomi has used to release devices with the suffix Lite, generally weakened versions of the models to which they refer, such as Mi 8 Lite, Mi 9 Lite, Mi 10 Lite etc .. devices that is in terms of design that technical specifications are actually quite different from the older brother from which they draw inspiration. But when the company presented Mi Note 10 Lite, many wondered what sense it made, given that both the design and the technical specifications are identical if not for some small difference.

Small but substantial differences in reality, which we tell you today in this review / comparison between Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite and Mi Note 10, spoiling you as of now that Lite does not mean "less substance".

306,00
available
22 January 2021 9: 22
Amazon Amazon.it
269,00 369,90
available
22 January 2021 9: 22
Amazon Amazon.it
Price updated on: 22 January 2021 9:22

SAR values ​​(limits: 10g for head and body / 2,0 W / Kg - 10 for limbs / 4,0 W / Kg):
- Head: 1,011 W / Kg
- Body: 1,385 W / Kg (5mm distance)

COMPARISON OF SPECIFICATIONS MI NOTE 10 LITE vs MI NOTE 10

Unboxing - Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite

Inside the sales package we find the following equipment:

  • Mi Note 10 Lite;
  • silicone cover;
  • USB data cable - USB Type-C;
  • wall power supply with European socket and max output at 30W;
  • pin for the SIM slot;
  • instruction manual.

The construction quality of the smartphone is undeniable thanks to the use of premium materials such as glass that covers the entire surface of the backcover, further protected by fifth generation Corning Gorilla Glass, whose only defect lies in a poor oleophobic treatment, going to retain fingerprints and dirt in general. In any case, the design is particularly gratifying considering the smooth aspect of the rear interrupted exclusively by the company logos and certifications and by the camera element inserted vertically and moved to the left, as well as by the curvature of the profiles that taper with the perimeter made of metal where we find in the upper part the second microphone for the reduction of environmental noise and the IR transmitter, while specularly there is the mono-type system speaker, main microphone, Type-C input for charging, data transfer and OTG support and 3,5mm jack input.

The left profile is free from any element while on the right we find the usual on / off buttons, volume rocker and the SIM trolley capable of hosting 2 SIM in nano format but without the possibility of memory expansion via micro SD.

note me 10 quarrels

In any case, both SIMs allow LTE navigation and band aggregation is present, therefore also the 4G + signal is hooked by the Mi Note 10 Lite without particular problems, offering a good browsing speed and no uncertainty in the network signal switch . The audio of the calls is particularly clear while the sound offered by the system speaker is decidedly well balanced in the nuances of the sound spectrum, although I would have expected something more from the point of view of the maximum volume in general, but perhaps better this way as at the maximum volume offered no distortion is perceived.

As mentioned Mi Note 10 Lite and Mi Note 10 are practically identical, also sharing the measures equal to 157,8 x 74,2 x 9,67 mm but with different weight: 204 grams for the Lite version against the 208 grams of the older brother probably due to the different photographic module. 5 optics for Mi Note 10 decidedly protruding while the quad camera of the Lite version is almost flush with the body, giving a more elegant appearance to the smartphone.

note me 10 quarrels

The weight is in any case well balanced on the entire axis of the phone and is justified by an imposing 5260 mAh battery that supports fast charging at 30W allowing a recharge of 58% in just 30 minutes while it takes 65 to get to the 100%. The autonomy results are extraordinary, allowing you to get to over 8 hours of active screen with still a residual 60% of battery, with a type of use: watching 3 movies, web browsing, GPS for about 30 minutes, countless notifications chat and social, photos etc ..

Also shared the hardware for connectivity which boasts the presence of a dual band WiFi module, Bluetooth 5.0, FM Radio, NFC sensor for mobile payments via smartphone and GPS module with coupling of Galileo satellites, but in the case of Mi Note 10 this is double frequency, therefore more reliable in navigation, especially on foot. On Mi Note 10 Lite instead I saw some uncertainty in areas where the roads were rather condensed together. Noteworthy is the presence of Qualcomm's aptX codec which gives TWS / Bluetooth headsets a greater sound performance for listening to music and streaming in general, eliminating any delay between audio and video.

note me 10 quarrels

The hardware that moves Mi Note 10 Lite and Mi Note 10 is also decidedly similar, with the adoption of Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G CPU, processor with 8nm production process and maximum clock at 2.2 GHz, assisted by an Adreno 618 GPU as well as type RAM LPDDR4X and UFS 2.1 storage. In Mi Note 10, however, we only have the cut from 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage while for Mi Note 10 Lite we have the variants from 6/64 GB and 6/128 GB but also 8/128 GB not available at all. purchase for the moment in Italy.

With this hardware base we are able to perform all the tasks required of the device in an optimal manner, without ever recognizing lag or particular overheating. The performance in the gaming field is also excellent, with execution of recent and rather resource-intensive titles without any problem. Definitely reliable in everyday use, Mi Note 10 Lite is the ideal companion for all types of users, who demand performance and reliability. The smartphone can also count on the Android 10 operating system and MIUI 11 graphic interface, which will be updated shortly to the recent MIUI 12. During my use, I also received an update that improved the general stability of the system and introduced security patches. of April 2020 compared to those of March, basic present on the smartphone launched for the first time.

I do not go into the maze of the MIUI 11 features because we really know it by heart and above all because the future update to MIUI 12 will bring significant improvements to the already current user experience. In any case, the Xiaomi interface is one of the best and most complete in the Android landscape with specific functions for privacy and system customization. To the advantage of Mi Note 10 Lite over the older brother Mi Note 10 I can say that the Lite variant already arrives with Android 10 while this on Mi Note 10 was recently received with a major update, therefore in theory Mi Note 10 Lite can rely on two system updates such as Android 11 and 12 while the standard variant may stop at Android 11.

 

The time has come to talk about the front of the smartphone, an element that makes Mi Note 10 Lite indistinguishable from the standard variant. Reduced and well-optimized frames, which see the presence in the upper part of the ear capsule and the proximity and brightness sensors, the latter however a little fluffy in some scenarios, going into confusion in choosing the correct display brightness. Below a short video demonstrating what has been said (on the left Mi Note 10 and on the right Mi Note 10 Lite):

Display boasting a 6,47-inch diagonal, protected by Corning Gorilla Glass 5 glass and 3D curvature on the edges. The resolution offered is Full HD +, 1080 x 2340 pixels with a maximum brightness of 600 nits, which makes it particularly bright and readable even in direct sunlight. The design is interrupted only by the drop notch in which the selfie camera is inserted which allows unlocking via Unlock Face, even in conditions of absolute darkness. In terms of security, we also find the presence of the fingerprint reader under the display, which is particularly reliable but not particularly fast.

This is possible thanks to the AMOLED display technology that also offers HDR 10 support and Level 1 Widevine certification for viewing in HD streaming on platforms such as Netflix, while on Amazon Prime Video the certification suitable for viewing in high quality is probably still missing . In any case, HDR 10 is recognized by games such as PUBG Mobile and allows a truly extraordinary vision of multimedia content. A truly satisfying screen thanks to natural colors and depths of absolute blacks, adjustments that can also change thanks to the integrated software which also provides basic reduced TÜV Rheinland blue light emissions.

We do not have any notification LEDs but rather the possibility of activating the Always On Display, which unfortunately does not allow any interaction with notifications, but offers a series of graphic customizations. Finally, you can wake up the display with a double tap or simply by lifting the smartphone.

And here we are at the substantial difference between Mi Note 10 Lite and Mi Note 10, or the photographic sector which consists of 5 elements for the standard variant and 4 optics for the Lite model. Below is an exploded view of the sensors used on one and the other model (on the Sx Lite and Dx Note 10). On paper, the older brother seems to win, given the use of a 108 MP primary sensor, the latter a Samsung HMX while on Note 10 Lite we find a 64 MP but with Sony IMX686 sensor. As we will see in the course of the photos proposed as an example of photographic performance, I say right now that Mi Note 10 Lite comes out as the winner of the comparison, probably for the best optimization of the Sony sensor.

note me 10 quarrels

Specifically, Mi Note 10 Lite uses 4 sensors as follows: 64 MP Sony IMX586 f / 1.89, 1 / 1.73 ″, 0.8µm EIS, 8 MP, f / 2.2, (ultrawide), 1 / 4.0 ″, 1.12µm FOV 117 °, 2 MP, f / 2.4, (macro), 1,75μm and finally 5 MP, f / 2.4, (depth), 1,12 μm, 1 / 1,5 ″. Numbers that indicate little to the beginners of photography and therefore better investigate them with practical examples, specifying that for reasons of "space on the server" the photos have been compressed and therefore are not at their full resolution, but it is still possible to display significant differences.

note me 10 quarrels

64 MP vs 108 MP

In this case we have a greater collection of data by Mi Note 10 thanks to the use of 108 MP thus obtaining a more defined photo in case of enlargement of the details, also obtaining a greater depth of field (blurred effect) natural.

Gallery

The photos in many cases seem very similar, but it is possible to notice a better balance of the contrasts of the subjects as well as the white balance in favor of Mi Note 10 Lite. They are both excellent smartphones dedicated to photography but the point and shoot with Mi Note 10 Lite is guaranteed by satisfactory results.

Macro mode

In the case of macro photos, the optics used in Mi Note 10 Lite were better, considering that it is possible to admire a greater depth effect of the objects photographed. In the case of coins, in fact, the relief of the effigy is distinguishable, as well as the colors are better contrasted, without having used HDR.

Wide / Zoom 2X mode

Normal
Wide
Normal
Zoom 2X
Normal
Zoom 2X

The results obtained in this mode seem to fluctuate, being better sometimes on the Lite version and others on the standard model, although in my opinion the colors are more natural in the shots of Mi Note 10 Lite but for the benefit of Mi Note 10 we also have one 5X optical zoom which in certain situations allows noteworthy shots without getting close to the subject.

Portrait / Selfie mode

First of all, it should be noted that in bokeh mode, Mi Note 10 offers a more "zoomed" shot than Mi Note 10 Lite, while being more homogeneous in the outlining of the framed subject. Even the colors are slightly brighter while in selfie mode, with the use of a 16 MP lens, f / 2.48 of Mi Note 10 Lite compared to the 32 MP of Mi Note 10, the shots obtained are better in the white balance and also in natural shades of facial skin.

Night mode

In this mode I personally appreciated the shots obtained with the standard model, as the shots are brighter and with more realistic colors. Particularly appreciated is the presence of the 10X hybrid zoom as well as the digital zoom that goes up to a 50x allowing you to photograph the moon with a dedicated function, obtaining decidedly suggestive shots. Probably everything is due to the software since the brightness of the optics are equivalent to the two models. In any case, nothing that cannot be solved with a software update or with the installation of an ad hoc GCam.

GCAM

In fact, it is possible to install the modulated GCam as it would with a simple application, which allows to further improve the photographic performance especially in critical lighting conditions. Below are some examples of shooting in the total absence of light if not the natural one offered by the Moon. Below the button for direct download.

DOWNLOAD GCAM MI NOTE 10 LITE

To the full advantage of Mi Note 10, however, we find an optical image stabilizer that is especially appreciated in videos, while on Mi Note 10 Lite the stabilizer is only of the EIS type. With the selfie camera we have a maximum resolution in Full HD at 30 fps while with the rear lens we can go up to 4K at 30 fps, but available we also have resolutions at 1080p 30/60 fps and 720p at 30 fps, with possibility to shoot slow motion videos at 960 fps, time lapse and use a series of filters derived from TikTok in short videos at 15 seconds as well as being able to take advantage of the new Vlog mode. Mi Note 10 also seems to have the better of the Lite version even in focus, although the differences are really minimal.

In summary Mi Note 10 Lite is definitely to be preferred in the photo field while if you are more oriented towards videos shot on the move then Mi Note 10 is to be preferred due to the presence of an OIS, an optical Zoom 5X. Finally, there is the presence of a dual tone Quad LED flash as well as good microphones and therefore the audio captured in recording mode.

306,00
available
22 January 2021 9: 22
Amazon Amazon.it
269,00 369,90
available
22 January 2021 9: 22
Amazon Amazon.it
Price updated on: 22 January 2021 9:22

CONCLUSIONS

We have seen during the course of the review that Mi Note 10 Lite differs from the older brother only for the GPS and for the optics and sensors used in the photographic sector both rear and front. Differences that on paper seem to benefit the standard version but which in reality have proved to be in favor of the Lite model. Both devices are excellent for everyday use, proving reliable and performing and now that the prices of the two models are getting closer and closer, the choice is really difficult. In any case, be on the safe side, but perhaps Mi Note 10 Lite could over time get more support on the updates side or maybe not ... in short, with Xiaomi lately it's a bit of a bet. Certainly Mi Note 10 Lite I recommend it rather recommend.

Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite Global 6 / 64Gb
🇨🇳 EU Priority Line Shipping (7 / 15gg, No Customs) ✈
Ask us about international distributors Ask us about international distributors
BGD11N10L

Telegram LogoAre you interested in OFFERS? Follow our TELEGRAM Channel! Many discount codes, offers, some exclusive of the group, on phones, tablet gadgets and technology.

8.9 Total score
XIAOMI NOTES ME 10 LITE

Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is one of those really successful smartphones by the company so much to wonder why to call it Lite, considering that compared to the oversized model Mi Note 10, he wins with his head held high. Device devoted to photography and excellent autonomy that will give you satisfaction in every situation of use. If he is not a best buy, he gets very close !!!

CONFEZIONE
8.5
DESIGN AND MATERIALS
9.1
DISPLAY
9.4
HARDWARE
8.9
AUDIO AND RECEPTION
8.4
SOFTWARE
8.7
CAMERA
9.3
BATTERY
10
ERGONOMICS
8.1
USER EXPERIENCE
9
PRICE
8.6
PROS
  • PHOTOGRAPHIC PERFORMANCES
  • BATTERY DURATION
  • DESIGN WITH BODY-LEVEL CAMERA
  • BRIGHT DISPLAY
  • GENERAL PERFORMANCE
CONS
  • ABSENCE OIS
  • NIGHT MODE
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Nerd, Geek, Netizen, terms that do not belong to me. Simply myself, technology lover and provocative as Xiaomi does with his products. High quality at fair prices, a real provocation for the other most famous brands.

Subscribe
Notify
guest
6 Declarations
most voted
more new older
Inline feedback
View all comments
Luca
Luca
6 months ago

Hi Emanuele, great review as always, done with passion. I add a small observation regarding the light captured in low light conditions. Write above: Night Mode In this mode, I personally appreciated the shots obtained with the standard model more, as the shots are brighter and with more realistic colors. **** Probably everything is due to the software as the brightness of the optics are equivalent to the two models. **** ********** It is true that the brightness of the optics is almost the same: f: 1,89, 10 Note 1,69 Lite; f: 10 Note 25 (about + XNUMX%). However, in addition to the optics, the quantity of... Read the rest »

Kirsten
Kirsten
6 months ago

Unfortunately there are problems with the Proximity Sensor which during the phone call makes you turn on the screen. I have the Note 10 Lite, but the same problem occurs on the Note 10. I hope it can be solved, because with a touchscreen and the terminal near the face is a no go.

fabio
fabio
5 months ago
Reply to  Kirsten

ah here ... then I'm not the only one with this problem. I also have the note 10.
Also ... would anyone want to tell xiaomi or the software "injuenieri" that having a part of the UI for the photos above the photo is not very functional? How do I focus on a detail where the UI is? How can I see if gray can never be disabled?
How do I get a decent shot if a third or so of the screen is the UI? ^^

Reinhard Schaefer
Reinhard Schaefer
7 months ago

Warum ist das kleinere Mi Note 10 lite (64 GB) bei Amazon.it teurer als das große (128 GB)? From kann irgendetwas nicht stimmen… beide sollen 349, - normalerweise kosten?

Enzo
Enzo
7 months ago

Thank you for such a comprehensive article, really well written and full of intelligent thought. I am a happy owner of Mi Note 10 Lite (paid new on ebay 270 euros with shipping from Italy) and I am really happy with it. I add a couple of personal reflections on this device, considering that I come from an "old" but reliable Lenovo P2 (4gb / 64gb, NFC, 5100 mah battery, Android 7): Battery (1): there is no battery problem drain (just to reassure: I had read on foreign forums battery drain problems on the Mi Note 10 not resolved so much as to force people to intervene with root and... Read the rest »

XiaomiToday.it - ​​The Italian community for Xiaomi products
Logo
Compare products
  • Total (0)
Compare
0